Feeling blue…

Well, the summer holidays are upon me and I still don’t have a sniff of work for September. To make matters worse, there also doesn’t seem to be any other sort of work around. I’m applying for JSA, but I don’t think I’ll get it, and I feel a bit pathetic.

Don’t get me wrong, there are up sides to unemployment. I’m currently watching my way through my (rather extensive) collection of old, cheesy and soppy films, almost on a mission to make myself cry. This morning Sense and Sensibility and the Boy in Striped Pyjamas. It’s almost masochistic.

The thing it, my emotions have been all over the place recently. I often burst into tears whenever I allow myself to brood on the situation, and sometimes things just set me off. It’s like my emotions are closer to the surface than usual. Usually, though, I can manage my emotions with a veil of cynicism and detachment. After all, there’s nothing I can do about it. That’s what I tell myself anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling blue…

  1. Christian says:

    Hallo Miss B Have. Ich schreib jetzt mal auf Deutsch, denn wenn ich das richtig verstehe, unterrichtest du Deutsch. Ich kam über Old Andrews Blog hierher und muss sagen, dass mir das alles sehr leid tut für dich. Ich hoffe, dass du bald einen Job finden wirst. Hier in Deutschland sind wir wohl etwas besser dran als Sprachenlehrer (wobei es natürlich auf die Sprache ankommt, die man unterrichtet): Englisch ist verpflichtend für nahezu alle Schulformen und in den Berufsbildenden Schulen (i.e. Further Education Colleges) sind Englischlehrer gerade sehr gesucht.

    Best Wishes and good luck
    Christian

Leave a Reply

