Eek! Wish me luck.

Right, I’ve got my first teaching interview tomorrow.

Audition lesson planned.   Check!

Transport arranged.   Check!

Butterflies in stomach.    Triple check!

I’ll let you know how it goes.

EDIT! Didn’t get it, but actually I’m not devastated. The school was nice, the kids were nice, the department was nice, but it just wasn’t quite right.

This entry was posted in Life Reorganisation, Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eek! Wish me luck.

  1. Karita says:

    Good luck! I’ll have all my fingers and toes crossed for you. XXX

  2. WillowFae says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t get it – but it sounds like you are okay about it. It took me 4 interviews before I got my job!

  3. ThePiousFlea says:

    Really, really, REALLY, don’t go for a job if you don’t think it’s right. Don’t even finish the interview – decline politely and leave.

    You’ll find 75% of your friends from the course take the first job they are offered and end up somewhere they hate. Good luck!

  4. Miss B Have says:

    ThePiousFlea – I know you’re right, though at the moment it’s difficult, as jobs are thin on the ground (MFL is so not the shortage subject it’s made out to be) and I’m not necessarily confident enough in my own instincts to feel comfortable withdrawing before the interview is over. Perhaps I’ll know better next time.

  5. Julie says:

    Come on over to Canada, my dear. My board is desperate for French teachers right now.

    Hang in there, the right thing will come your way soon enough.

  6. I withdrew from several interviews before I got my first job. Then it didn’t take me long to leave that one either! If in doubt, don’t take it – otherwise you’re committed to something and it’s like a bloody strait-jacket! (Which, coincidentally, is what you also might need after a term in a school that’s just wrong for you!)

    Plenty more jobs coming up in June after teachers hand in their notice at the end of May. Unfortunately, I won’t be one of the lucky ones brandishing a resignation letter as I haven’t got a new job yet…!

  7. Shel says:

    I’m still in a job search as well. I decided to join an online Teacher Community that has actually helped out a lot. I’ve been able to search through jobs, and get advice from veteran teachers. But don’t be discouraged if you don’t find that perfect job right away! Anything worth having is worth fighting for! You’ll find it!

Leave a Reply

