Placement 2

Ok, sorry for the delay in posts, but placement 2 is actually killing me!

Here’s the thing – the kids are awful! Well, not all of them, some of them are delightful, but there’s no getting away from the fact that more often than not kids ignore me when I ask them to please leave my classroom when they’re not supposed to be there, flat out blatantly refuse to do the work and insult me for daring to be a teacher. They ignore uniform rules, don’t turn up for detentions and never say ‘please,’ not even when asking to borrow something (“miss, have you got a pen” – I’m always tempted to say “yes thank you”). If I want to get somewhere in any kind of good time I have to ignore at least three different incidents in the corridor. It’s a total headache. On top of this my mentor is a perfectionist, I’m working a much fuller timetable than last time and there are two assignments due in soon and I’ve been looking for a job. And I’ve been starting to plan my wedding. Phew!

I never expected the PGCE to be easy, but it’s been ok up until now. This is the hardest bit of the course, approaching the end but not there yet. It’s all about survival now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Placement 2

  1. Caz says:

    I know this is ridiculously late, but I was scrolling through the page and this

    ”miss, have you got a pen” – I’m always tempted to say “yes thank you”

    caught my eye, because it’s exactly what I DO say! That or, when they say “miss, I ain’t got a pen”, I say, “thank you for sharing that fact, Jason, what would you like me to do about it?”

    It’s a little thing, but if a kid wants a pen, he/she can bloody well ASK me for one!

Leave a Reply

