Off and running

Well, I should be working on my primary school report, but I’m not. I’m writing this post. I’m aware, and sorry, that I’ve been neglecting my blog, and my readers (if I still have any after such unforgivably interrupted posting) but I do have an excuse – limited internet connection. I don’t have any internet at home and for some reason my laptop refuses to connect to my university wireless – even the computer geeks in IT services couldn’t fix it. Anyway, no excuse. I promise to be better (yes, I know, you’ve heard that before).

Well, university has well and truly begun. I’m getting back in the swing of lectures and seminars as if I’ve never been away. I’m reading this, and this, chapters from this and this and getting myself familiar with this. In preparation for my first assignment I need to think about reading this and this and in order to improve my language competence I’ll be making a start on this and this. There’s no way you can say that I’m not working hard!

I’ve also been assigned my first teaching placement, and I was intrigued to see that I’ve been placed in an all boys grammar school. A grammar school is excellent news for me, as a new teacher it’ll be nice to be eased in with relatively able students and I’ll get a chance to teach post sixteen. These boys aren’t allowed to do the A level in Modern Foreign Languages unless they have a B at GCSE, so this should make for lovely classes. However, boys and languages…. It should be interesting.

This entry was posted in Course Update. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Off and running

  1. razzler says:

    Glad it’s going well! Teaching in a boys grammar school should be interesting… I expect to hear all about it.

  2. That sounds like a lovely introduction to teaching! And I have begun to notice that people’s first teaching placements often influence where they end up in their first job too. You kind of get moulded by your first school, and like your first true love, everything else is held up to comparison with your first school! I imagine that competition is the way to go with high-achieving boys.

  3. Pingback: My first try | Diary of a Trainee Teacher

Leave a Reply

